ALUMNAE ASSOCIATION OF MILLS COLLEGE Annual Meeting

May 17, 2014 2:00 PM Reinhardt Alumnae House

I. INTRODUCTION

Vice-president Viji Nakka-Cammauf welcomed the alumnae to the annual meeting. President Lucy Do also welcomed alumnae and called the meeting to order at 2:10 PM.

Those in attendance and constituting a quorum were:

Board Members Present:

President: Lucy Do '75

Vice Presidents: Viji Nakka-Cammauf '82 MA and Jennifer King'00, MA '02

Treasurer: Susan Thomas '80

Members: Marge Nicholson '96, Gloria Fangon-Hitz '80, Pierre Loving '77, Toni McElroy ''83, '05

MA, '13 EdD, Lillian Sahagun '10, '12 MA, Dawna Williams '13 and Laura Gobbi.

Alumna Trustees: Melissa Stevenson Dile '91, Diana Odermatt '60 and Molly Fannon Williams '75.

Board Members Absent:

Darice Balabanis '08 MBA and Mel Petricko '13

Association Members:

Kirby Hoberg '12, Linda Stingily '78, Beverly Curwen '71, Katie Sanborn '83, Lynda Campfield '00, MA '02, Lynette Williamson '72, Judy Jones '60, Leah MacNeil '51 MA, Allison Marin '12, Michelle Balovich '03, Cynthia Guevara '04, Michelle Good Bamrah '89, Noelle Bruton '89, Lynette Castille Hall '75, Lynda Campfield '00, LaDonna Williams '84, Kay Carter '82, Vicki Luibrand '75, Linda Jaquez-Fissori '92, Kaila Sanford '11, Helen Muirhead '58, Marlene Hurd '10, Stephanie Der '13, Annie Neves '12, Betty Lin '00, Rachel Icaza '00, Renee Kemp, Dawn Cunningham '85, Shannon Wolfe '96, Cloud Force '00, Anna Henderson '80 and Daljit Bains '99.

I. PRESIDENT'S REPORT

AAMC President Lucy Do welcomed alumnae to the annual meeting and at 2:10 pm called the meeting to order. Do commented that the AAMC had 9 new members to the board during the first year of her tenure. Do began her presentation with an update of the college's implementation of the 5-

year strategic imperatives. Copies of Do's report were provided to the membership and is available to view in its entirety on the AAMC Alumna webpage.

II. TREASURER'S REPORT

AAMC Treasurer Susan Thomas reported that the AAMC is operating at a temporary loss due to the costs of producing the Hung Liu scarves. Those funds will be recouped with sales from the scarves. Thomas praised all of the AAMC committee chairs for keeping within their budgets. The proposed 2014-2015 budget was presented at \$56,000. A copy of the budget was provided to the membership. A motion to adopt the new budget was made by Governor McElroy. Motion was seconded by member Castille-Hall. Vote taken and the motion unanimously passed. A full copy of the Treasurer's report is available on the AAMC Alumna webpage.

III. APPROVAL OF MINUTES FROM 2013 ANNUAL MEETING

A motion to approve the minutes from the May 17, 2013 annual meeting was made by member Jaquez-Fissori. Motion was seconded by member Campfield. There was no discussion. Vote was taken and motion was passed unanimously.

IV. BRANCH CLUB COMMITTEE REPORT

Governor Nicholson introduced herself as the chair of the AAMC Branch/Club Committee and stated that the goal of the committee is to establish relationships with each branch or club of the AAMC. Governor Nicholson had invited many of the clubs to provide update reports of their own to the membership. Nicholson provided the update for the Contra Costa. Kaila Sanford provided the report for the Marin club.

V. NOMINATING COMMITTEE

Chair of the Nominating Committee, Governor Pierre Loving made announcements about the slate of new members to the Board of Governors and then called for nominations to the Nominating Committee for the next year.

- A. The Nominating Committee recommended the following appointments for the BOG and the BOG approved this slate (effective 7/1/2014): Terms are three years.
 - a. Two new Board Members: Catherine Ladnier '70 and Lynette Castille-Hall '75, and two returning governors Lillian Sahagun '10 '12 MA and Marge Nicholson '96 MA.
 - b. Alumna Trustee: Judith James '74.
- B. Nominations and vote for the 2014-2015 Nominating Committee:

- a. The following alumnae were nominated to be members of the Nominating Committee for year 2014-2015: Viji Nakka-Cammauf '82 MA, Lynette Castile-Hall '75, Lynette Williams Williamson '74, Kaila Sanford '11, Lillian Sahagun '10 '12 MA, Rachel Icaza '00, Annie Neves '12, Vickie Luibrand '75, Marlene Hurd '10, and Linda Stingily.
- b. After votes were counted, the following alumnae were chosen to be the new members of the Nominating Committee (effective 7/1/2014): Viji Nakka-Cammauf, Lynette Castille-Hall, Lynette Williams Williamson, Kaila Sanford, Rachel Icaza, and Vickie Luibrand. The following people were chosen as alternates (in the event that one or more of the committee members are unable to fulfill their duties): Annie Neves, Lillian Sahagun and Linda Stingily.

c. **MOTION** by Williamson:

- i. Move to accept the new Nominating Committee slate.
- ii Dile seconded

iii. All approved the new Nominating Committee slate for 2014-2015.

President Do announced the new chair of the Nominating Committee is Marina Simenstad '68.

VI. BRANCH REPORTS CONTINUED

Governor McElroy introduced Daljit Bains to give the report from the DC Area club, followed by Rachel Icaza from the North Bay club and Shannon Wolf from the San Francisco club.

VII TRUSTEE'S REPORT

Trustee Melissa Stevenson-Dile provided a hard-copy of her report in advance of the meeting. That report can be read on the AAMC website. Dile reported that the trustees are focusing on curricular efforts; change what and how we teach for the growth of the students. There is also a vision to restore and renovate Lisser Hall. Grant funds are being sought.

VIII BRANCH REPORTS CONTINUED.

Governor Sahagun introduced Anna Henderson to give the report from the Palo Alto club, Kirby Hoberg to give the report for the East Bay club and Lynette Castille-Hall to give the Santa Barbara report.

IX. ANNOUNCEMENTS

- A. We still have time to nominate alumnae for the Alumnae Awards. Nominations are due June 12. Fliers were distributed.
- B. Tickets are still available for Cal Shakes performance of A Raisin in the Sun, tickets are \$20 and include a meet and greet with the cast. Date is June 8.

- C. The Alumnae of Color committee is hosting its third jazz concert, performer Nikolas Beard to appear. Date is June 28 and tickets are \$45 and \$25.
- D. Jennifer King announced an Author's Panel for October 12 in the Concert Hall addressing the topic ReCreating Womanhood. Several well-known authors will be on the panel. It's the 135th anniversary of the AAMC and this is part of the ongoing celebration.
- E. Betty Lin will be the faculty representative to the Board of Governors for 2014-2017.

A drawing was held for the Hung Liu scarf that had been framed. Molly Fannon Williams was the winner and graciously donated the scarf back to the AAMC to be hung at Reinhardt House.

Meeting Adjourned at 3:38PM.

Respectfully Submitted,

Lesli MacNeil '75, AAMC Office Assistant