ALUMNAE ASSOCIATION OF MILLS COLLEGE BOARD OF GOVENORS MEETING May 11, 2016 6:00 – 9:00 PM REINHARDT ALUMNAE HOUSE

I. CALL TO ORDER AND WELCOME

President Lucy Do called the meeting to order at 7:01 PM. There were 17 members in attendance. Those in attendance and constituting a quorum were: President: Lucy Do. Vice-President: Marge Nicholson. Treasurer: Susan Thomas Board Members: Pierre Loving, Dorothy Lawrence, Toni McElroy, Lillian Sahagun, Lenore Tate, Marina Simenstad, Catherine Ladnier, Lynette Castille-Hall, and Gloria Fangon-Hitz. Alumna Trustees: Melissa Stevenson-Diaz, Susan Ardisson and Judith James. Student Governor: Rachel Patterson. Board member Dawna Williams was absent.

The meeting began with AAMC President Lucy Do welcoming college President Alecia DeCoudreaux and her mother Viola DeCoudreaux. The Governors presented DeCoudreaux with a crystal bowl engraved with *Remember Who You Are and What You Represent*. DeCoudreaux was not asked to make a presentation to the Governors.

II. OFFICERS' REPORTS

A Trustee Ardisson made a motion to approve the minutes of the February 17, 2016 Board of Governors meeting. The motion was seconded by Vice-president Nicholson. There was no discussion. A vote was taken and the minutes were approved unanimously.

Do reported that the search for a Vice-president of Advancement is going well, there are many qualified candidates and the position should be filled by the end of July.

Treasurer Susan Thomas presented her report, a hardcopy of which had been presented to the Governors in advance of the meeting. Thomas asked for a motion to approve the budget for the 2016-2017 year, motion made by Trustee Stevenson-Diaz, seconded by Governor Ladnier. A vote was taken and the budget was passed unanimously. In addition to the 2016-2017 budget, Thomas reported that the Finance Committee approved two proposals

- 1. Any expenses that exceed the approved budget will not be reimbursed without documentation.
- 2. Expenses must be submitted for reimbursement within 30 days or they will be denied.

Incoming Treasurer, Dorothy Lawrence will work with a subcommittee and reword and rework these two proposals and have them ready for the next Board of Governors meeting in October. They will be added to the Guidelines document. A motion that Treasurer Lawrence and subcommittee review the proposals was made by Governor Tate, seconded by Governor Ladnier. A vote was taken and motion passed.

III. COMPACT UPDATE

Vice-President Nicholson bestowed a Pearl M pin on outgoing AAMC President Lucy Do, the pin had been purchased as a group effort by all the Governors.

Nicholson then proceeded with the Compact update. The document had been signed earlier in the day by College President DeCoudreaux, Board of Trustees chairperson Kathleen Burke and AAMC President Lucy Do. The Compact webpage is now updated to reflect the new status. A final email blast went out to the entire AAMC population. Attention is now being aimed at the June 11th retreat to work on the next steps. A motion was made by Nicholson that the AAMC Board of Governors approves the compact. A second was made by Trustee Ardisson. Vote was taken and motion passed unanimously.

Nicholson asked for volunteers to help plan the retreat. Governors Castille-Hall and Simenstad volunteered.

IV. COMMENCEMENT AND ANNUAL MEETING VOLUNTEERS

President Do asked for volunteers to help with Commencement and the Annual Meeting to be happening on Saturday May 14th. There would be a need to count ballots for the Nominating Committee, Governors Sahagun and Thomas volunteered. Do also asked for volunteers to help with merchandise sales.

V. ANNOUNCEMENTS

Trustee Susan Ardisson is the committee chair for the Alumna Awards. She is seeking nominations for the three categories, Distinguished Alumna, Outstanding Volunteer and Recent Graduate. An informational flyer is available and will be handed out at annual meeting.

Catherine Ladnier is doing a play at the Rosie the Riveter Museum in Richmond on August 13th. There will be a Rosie Rally with people dressed as Rosie. Oakland Mayor Libby Schaff declared April 30th as Alecia DeCoudreaux day in the City of Oakland.

President Do reminded Governors to make their financial contribution to the AAMC Endowment before the end of the fiscal year, June 30th.

VI. NOMINATING COMMITTEE

Governor Loving presented the slate of nominees for the 2016-2019 Board of Governors. The new Governors are: Alexa Pagonas '91, Adrienne Foster '74, Lucy Seereiter '77, Linda Stingily '78. Treasurer Susan Thomas is transitioning to become a Governor and Governor Dorothy Lawrence is moving to the Treasurer's position. Viji Nakka-Cammauf was selected to be the incoming AAMC President. The Alumna Trustee elected by the AAMC population at large was Yvonne Daniel '75. A motion to accept the slate as presented was made by Governor Ladnier and seconded by Governor Simenstad. A vote was taken, there were two abstentions, Governors Tate and McElroy, the rest in attendance voted "aye", motion passed.

In addition to the new Board of Governors slate, at the annual meeting the Nominating Committee for the 2016-2017 year will need to be selected. There needs to be two present Governors on the committee as well as an alternate Governor. Governors Fangon-Hitz, Thomas and Ardisson agreed to allow their names to be put forth for the Nominating Committee.

Meeting adjourned at 8:55 pm by President Lucy Do

Submitted by Lesli MacNeil May 17, 2016