## Alumnae Association of Mills College Board of Governors Special Meeting Minutes April 10, 2022 9:00 a.m. Teleconference

## I. CALL TO ORDER AND WELCOME

President Viji Nakka – Cammauf called the meeting to order at 9:37 a.m. There were 18 in attendance, with 1 absent.

Those in attendance and constituting a quorum were:

President: Viji Nakka – Cammauf

Vice President: Open

**Board Members**: Debra Connick, Debby Campbell Dittman, Adrienne Foster (alumna trustee), Linda Goodrich, Myila Granberry, Christina Hannan, Alice Hewitt, Ellen Hines, Catherine Ladnier, Courtney Long, Claudia Mercado, Mitra Lohrasb Michnik, Pam Roper,

Ariadne Wolf, Deb Wood (alumna trustee), Cherlene Wright.

Absent: Gwen Foster

## A. KEY MOTIONS AND VOTES

The following motion is made by Alexa Pagonas, seconded by Claudia Mercado, and fails in a roll call vote:

"We move, per the request and recommendation of the participants at the summit in March, that the open letter to Congress be mailed to all alumnae via our clearinghouse so that it arrives in alumnae mailboxes on or around May 1st, and that it be emailed in April via our normal email communication, and that it be hosted on the AAMC website with supporting documents verifying the facts (eg: Matthew Hendricks presentation) - and that all of the aforementioned communication be sent with a caveat that the BOG is not endorsing the position of the letter but sharing the voices of many concerned alumnae." Those in favor: Alice Hewitt, Courtney Long, Claudia Mercado, Mitra Lohrasb Michnik, Alexa Pagonas, Pam Roper, Ariadne Wolf, Cherlene Wright. Those opposed: Debra Connick, Debby Campbell Dittman, Adrienne Foster, Linda Goodrich, Myila Granberry, Christina Hannan, Ellen Hines, Catherine Ladnier, Viji Nakka-Cammauf, Deb Wood.

Motion is made to immediately publish the above motion made by Alexa Pagonas and Claudia Mercado, and the resulting roll call vote results, on the AAMC website. The motion passes in a roll call vote. Those in favor: Debra Connick, Debby Campbell Dittman, Christina Hannan, Alice Hewitt, Ellen Hines, Catherine Ladnier, Courtney Long, Claudia Mercado, Mitra Lohrasb Michnik, Viji Nakka-Cammauf, Alexa Pagonas, Pam Roper, Ariadne Wolf, Cherlene Wright. Those opposed: Adrienne Foster, Linda Goodrich, Myila Granberry, Deb Wood

A motion to extend the meeting for 15 minutes is made, seconded, and passes.

A motion is made that any meeting by the president or governors of the AAMC with members of the college staff or officers including President Hillman, in which there are iscussions regarding the future of the AAMC RAH, or database, must include Rachael Meny or another duly hired / appointed attorney to represent the voice of the Board. If the president of the college refuses to meet with our appointed representative, then it will be seen as an act of bad faith and the board of governors will discuss appropriate action. The motion fails in a roll call vote. Those in favor: Alice Hewitt, Claudia Mercado, Mitra Lohrasb Michnik, Alexa Pagonas, Pam Roper, Ariadne Wolf, Cherlene Wright. Those opposed: Debra Connick, Debby Campbell Dittman, Christina Hannan, Ellen Hines, Catherine Ladnier, Courtney Long, Viji Nakka-Cammauf. Those opposed: Adrienne Foster, Linda Goodrich, Myila Granberry, Deb Wood

B. Resignation of Alexa Pagonas. Alexa Pagonas announces that effective 10:15 a.m. today, she is resigning from the Board of Governors. She says she will stay on the Governance, Hospitality, and Reinhardt Alumnae House Committees as a committee member, and will only resign from the Nominating Committee, which she calls an "amazing committee that can work very well without me." She says that Alice Hewitt was already co-chair of the Governance Committee, so can take over as Chair. Hospitality Committee already has two governors as members, Alice Hewitt and Myila Granberry. The Reinhardt Alumnae House Committee will need a new Chair. She recommends that Cherlene Wright take over as Nominating Committee Chair as she had been the Chair of that committee previously.

Adjourns at 10:15 a.m.

Submitted by Courtney Long