3rd Quarter Nominating Committee Report February 17, 2016

Mission Statement: The purpose of the Nominating Committee (NC) is to provide the nominations for members and officers of the Board of Governors and Honorary Memberships in the AAMC. In this regard, the NC works on developing ways to encourage and engage alumnae to participate in becoming members of the Board of Governors or serving on the various AAMC committees. The NC also facilitates the annual election of the Alumnae Trustee to the Board of Trustees of Mills College.

2015-2016 Nominating Committee - Pierre Loving, Chair

NC Members: Jennifer King, Lynette Castille-Hall, Marina Simenstad, Alheli Cuenca, Jennifer Lin and Vicki Luibrand

2015-2016 – 5 Meetings

The Nominating Committee has met three times since our last report. We selected 3 candidates to run for the Alumnae Trustee position from the 4 candidates who requested to be considered. Two of the candidates selected ran for the position previously, Samira Kirmiz and Elizabeth Kelly. The other candidate is Yvonne Daniel. The fourth candidate we considered was Adrienne Foster and she has agreed to be considered for one of the Board of Governors vacancies.

There has been a lack of response to the outreach we have made for Board and Officers positions. The committee requests that given the changes that will be made with the college that the Board of Governors make every effort to encourage those you know who have leadership abilities to apply for the officer's positions. Reach out to the leaders who were in your class or those you know who would be responsible officers to serve on the board and implement the new changes that will come about as a result of the new Compact with the college.

Contact the person you want to recommend and make certain they want to be considered before submitting their name to the committee. If they are interested, ask them to email me at pierre@jps.net or Lesli McNeil at

clmacneil@mills.edu

Thank you for your support for this most important time in the history of Mills College.

Respectfully submitted by,

Pierre Loving, Chair-Nominating Committee